Who Can Use It?

Generally speaking, any government entity or political subdivision who retains one of the three following characteristics or sovereign powers: the power of eminent domain, police power, or the power to levy taxes can qualify for a municipal lease purchase.


Lease Purchase Financing is also referred to as tax-exempt financing or a tax-exempt lease. Under a tax-exempt lease, the borrower must be a state or possession of the U.S., the District of Columbia, or a political subdivision, such as:

  • Cities, Counties, States
  • Townships
  • Fire Departments
  • School Districts
  • Special Purpose Districts (fire, parks, utility, water, etc.)
  • Authorities


Essential Services Organizations

Because an agency is financially supported by government funds or is “tax-exempt” does not always ensure qualification. Additionally, some provisions within the tax code allow organizations providing essential services on behalf of political subdivisions, such as Volunteer Fire Departments, Rescue Squads, EMS, etc., to enter into a tax-exempt lease with some qualifications.


Outside of the organizations mentioned above, nonprofit organizations created under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code do not qualify directly as issuers of tax-exempt obligations but may be eligible with a sponsoring governmental unit.


Get a Quote Within One Business Day

Request a Quote

From our customers


"It has been a pleasure working with Community Leasing Partners. The staff is prompt, clear and honest."

John Collum
Grays Harbor Fire District #8 Chief

Fair Housing And Equal Opportunity(888) 777-7850E-mail
Mobile Site >